75th anniversary of the International Court of Justice : Watch the virtual tour of the Peace Palace in the Hague

On the occasion of the 75th anniversary of the International Court of Justice, a virtual tour of the Peace Palace in The Hague, the seat of the Court, is now available here

The President of the Court, H.E. Judge Joan E. Donoghue, delivered a video message to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Court. Watch it here

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). It was established in June 1945 by the Charter of the United Nations and began work in April 1946.

The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). Of the six principal organs of the United Nations, it is the only one not located in New York (United States of America).

The Court’s role is to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies.

The Court is composed of 15 judges, who are elected for terms of office of nine years by the United Nations General Assembly and the Security Council. It is assisted by a Registry, its administrative organ. Its official languages are English and French.


Popular posts from this blog

Doctoral researcher (PhD student) in Law at the University of Luxembourg

PhD Positions in “Digital Health – Digitalisation in Health Law”

European Investment Bank is seeking to recruit an Associate Banking & Finance Lawyer