New President and Vice-President of the International Court of Justice

On 8.2.2021, Judge Joan E. Donoghue (United States of America) was elected President of the International Court of Justice by her peers, and Judge Kirill Gevorgian (Russian Federation) was elected Vice-President, each for a term of three years.

Biographies of President Donoghue and Vice-President Gevorgian, who have been Members of the Court since 9 September 2010 and 6 February 2015, respectively, can be found on the Court’s website, under the heading “Members of the Court”/“CurrentMembers”.

Following the elections held on 12 November 2020 by the United Nations General Assembly and Security Council to fill the five seats which were due to fall vacant on 6 February 2021 (see press release No. 2020/33), the composition of the Court is now as follows:

President : Joan E. Donoghue (United States of America)

Vice-President:  Kirill Gevorgian (Russian Federation)

Judges: Peter Tomka (Slovakia), Ronny Abraham (France), Mohamed Bennouna (Morocco), Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade (Brazil), Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia), Xue Hanqin (China), Julia Sebutinde (Uganda), Dalveer Bhandari (India) ,Patrick Lipton Robinson (Jamaica) ,James Richard Crawford (Australia), Nawaf Salam (Lebanon), Iwasawa Yuji (Japan) Georg Nolte (Germany).



George Kazoleas, Lawyer

Top Stories

Ombudsman inquiry on Commission President’s text messages is a wake-up call for EU

Accidents on board an aircraft: The strict liability of airlines under the Montreal convention extends to inadequate first aid administered on board an aircraft

Airbnb is not required to hold an estate agent’s professional licence as it did not notify the Commission of that requirement in accordance with the Directive on electronic commerce

First judgment of the ECHR: Lawless v. Ireland

Early repayment of the loan: Borrower's right to reduction in the total cost of the credit and bank's compensation right

Politically Exposed Persons (PEPs): What and Why?

Processing of personal data: decisions taken by a supervisory authority in the context of the indirect exercise of the rights of the data subject are legally binding (ECJ)